BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Applied Science

The BTEC Level 3 Diploma is broadly equivalent to two A-Levels. The course is designed for learners who want to continue their education through applied learning and who aim to progress to higher education, and ultimately to employment in the applied science sector. It is intended as part of a two-year programme, normally alongside a further Level 3 qualification. It may also offer apprenticeship or direct employment opportunities.


The Qualification consists of six mandatory units:

  • Unit 1: Principles and Application of Science I
  • Unit 2: Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques
  • Unit 3: Science Investigation Skills
  • Unit 4: Laboratory Techniques and their application
  • Unit 5: Principles and Applications of Science II
  • Unit 6: Investigative Project
Learners will also study two optional units:
  • Unit 8: Physiology of Human Body Systems
  • Unit 21: Medical Physics Applications


This qualification is primarily designed to support progression to applied science and related employment after further study at university. However, it also supports learners progressing directly to employment, as the transferable knowledge, understanding and skills will give learners an advantage when applying for a range of entry-level industry training
programmes and/or Higher Apprenticeships in areas such as laboratory technician, industrial technician, medical technician.


Mandatory units; 1: Principles and Applications of Science I, Unit 3: Science Investigation Skills, Unit 5: Principles and Applications of Science II and Unit 6: Investigative Project are either externally-set written examinations or written task/experimental assessments.

Mandatory units 2, 4, 6 and the designated two optional units are portfolio based assessments.


The minimum entry requirements for level 3 applied study apply. In addition, Grade 4 or above in GCSE Science (single or combined) or Merit in Level 2 BTEC Applied Science study and Grade 4 in Mathematics is required.